Skinnyman

First guitar - acoustic or electric?

Question

As Kiwi has gone to all the trouble of setting up this section, it seems churlish not to use it so I’ll ask the first question - and although I’m no longer an absolute beginner, it’s one that I’m not sure of the answer as I can see pros and cons of each.

Anyway, my question to the panel is;

What’s the best choice for a complete beginner - electric or acoustic or classical?

Obviously, with an electric you have the added complication of an amp but I wonder which is the easiest for a beginner to get to grips with in the very early days when it’s all about learning some chords and getting your fingers toughened up?

• Thanks 1

4 answers to this question

I'd take the view that there are multiple answers to this question. One important (maybe the most important..?) factor in learning stuff, any stuff, at any age, is motivation, that's to say: wanting to. How many children were sat at a piano, or handed a recorder or violin, even having expensive lessons thrust upon them, but didn't take it on board, or even rejected the whole thing..? If the itch that needs scratching is for an electric guitar, then start off on an electric guitar. If the motivation is more towards classical music, a classical guitar  would be the way to go. To get one's hand in by the (relatively..) easier route, an acoustic guitar can bring more rapid satisfaction (as long as the effort is put in, naturally...).