SultanOfSwing

Decent Electric guitars/amps

Hi guys,

I've been playing acoustic guitar for almost two years now. But I have a yamaha Pacifica electric and a Marshall mg10CD amp which I’ve had for around 10 years or more. I want to start learning some solos and some more electric style songs but this combination just doesn’t seem to sound great. I don’t know much about guitars or gear so I don’t know if it’s the guitar, the amp, or both, or if I just need some effect pedals. 
 A friend did recommend getting a Mexican Stratocaster or telecaster but I wanted to get some advice from some proper guitar heads. 

Hopefully you can help me out. 

Cheers

image.gif.d9b80da5fb0601ec3a2d332f90620f65.gif

I’m a big fan of Yammy Pacificas, a guitar that has always punched above its price point, no matter which level of Pacifica it is. I don’t know much about your amp, other than it’s very small and it’s this where I think your issue might lay. Try and use your guitar through a bigger amp, if possible, and see how that sounds to you.

• Like 2

2 hours ago, SultanOfSwing said:

Any recommendations on amps? 

Take your guitar to a shop (if possible) and try a bunch for a potential budget. Usual suspects apply: Marshall, Fender, Blackstar, Vox, etc. Personally, I always seem to veer towards Fender, or Fender style amps, but that’s just my preference. 

• Like 2

I'm going to echo @ezbass and suggest a different amp is the way to go, there are so many good amps available these days that the best option is to go out and try as many as you can, i tend to veer towards british amps but as already said it's very much a personal thing.

another option might be to get a multi-fx unit of some kind (the zoom units are pretty good these days) this will give you lots of different sounds as well as amp sims on some models.