Rabb

Hi Everyone :)

Hi everyone.
I'm a total newbie from Glasgow and looking for some advice and information to start the journey of playing guitar.
I found an old guitar I bought years ago in the loft (Hohner MW300) and would like to learn to play it.

Currently I'm struggling to get a chord out of it as it feels like my fingers are too large. Are there different sizes of necks you can buy?

Any advice on an affordable learner acoustic compatible with chubby fingers would be gratefully appreciated :)
Thanks,
Rab

:crigon_04:

There are various nut widths available, the widest tend to be classical guitars, but you should be able to find something that suits; measure the width of your Hohner and go from there. It’s hard to wrong with anything from the Yamaha stable, IMO, they don’t make a bad guitar at any price point.

The classical Spanish guitar (hand made) that I am using has a 52mm (2") neck, which is good for chunky fingers.  The more you practise, the leaner and stronger your fingers become and you are less likely to "foul" other strings (as I discovered!).  I had a Hofner classical, followed by a Squier Strat later, then "slept" for 40+ years!!!

Thanks for the replies folks, much appreciated.
I'll persevere a bit longer in the hope that my fingers become a bit more supple.
After an hour or so today I think there may be a little improvement however, an A chord is pushing my patience. Is it even possible to get three fingers that close????🙄

Experiment and they don't have to be in a straight line!  When starting, we often press too hard too.  Try relaxing the pressure a little.  Small steps seem to be working for me, just going from one chord to another and back again until it sounds crisp and not dull.  Don't overdo it and have plenty of breaks.  I am a newbie too in reality, so I am with you in spirit.  Got any calluses yet?

• Like 1

3 hours ago, Rabb said:

Thanks for the replies folks, much appreciated.