ryan1mcq

Machine heads recommendations

Morning all, I have just got myself and Ibanez AX120 and would like to put new machine heads on it as i struggle a bit with fune tuning, i know its a bit of a cheaper guitar so not sure which brand of MH to go for. I'm fairly new to guitar but I've dabbled over the years but I'm far form super knowedgable. 

And recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys 🙏

Ryan

Welcome to the forum.

My normal recommendation for replacement hardware is Hipshot, but a set of those would be almost half the value of your Ibanez. I would probably go with Wilkinson tuners for your AX120 as they’re good quality and reasonably priced.

• Like 1

36 minutes ago, ryan1mcq said:

...And recommendations would be greatly appreciated...

Ibanez tuners are made by Gotoh. To change, it would be best if the replacement tuners used the same screw configuration as the originals. The precision of tuning depends to a great extent on the 'ratio' (number of turns it takes to increase string tension...). The 'flagship' Gotoh tuner that would probably be a straight swap for your originals would be the Gotoh SGL510, which has the same screw positioning and barrel diameter. These tuners are used on some of the higher-end Ibanez guitars such as the George Benson models. There are a few cosmetic variations of these tuners, concerning the 'look' of the tuner buttons; that's a matter of personal preference. Thomann stock these tuners; the price for a set is £60 currently; they have a gear ratio of 18:1.