nathanevelive

Phase issues

Strangely I have had issues about this too (such is the joy in my life) whilst trying to mic up acoustic close and far as well as use the pickup to do a multi track in one take. Couldn't get it to work properly.

Admittedly not trying to get a stereo feel, just recording multiple tracks with which to mix. Couldn't get something about the phase right. In the end i took the view of @Dad3353 and thought, why bother? I just played twice and recorded separate tracks for each mic which worked much better.

• Thanks 1

Dad3353 I  guess it might matter to somebody learning how to record audio and hopefully this discussion maybe helpful to said person. So I wide stereo mic all the time with nice results and I am a professional guitarist and I guess that I threw this out there because I believe that there's so many misleading videos out there on youtube that say you got to get wide stereo micing in phase. But It is simply not true and not possible and it never will be with an acoustic guitar because of the instrument having an irregular shape and therefore irregular sound projection to microphone A and B.

I can neither get a wide stereo pair to be completely out of phase for the same reason.

I just this would help anybody aspiring to record who leans heavily on informational videos.