kanjinha

Yamaha Revstar 502T - Mods for a Lefty

Good day, hoping to find you all well.

I did search in this forum for an answer but haven't found one (apols if there is one i missed), and would like to make a couple questions seeking experts feedback.

Fast-forward, I am a newbie in this world and at 40y I decided to start a new hobby. As soon as I saw the Yamaha Revstar 502T in Bowden Green colour I knew I had to buy and so I did. I am a lefty, and I thought it was just a matter of buying a new NUT for lefties and restring and was ready to go. However, after speaking to a friend yesterday he told me I was wrong and the Nut was not enough. I have to change the bridge as well otherwise I have intonation issues 😶
The worst part, he tells me that the bridge in this guitar its not 100% parallel to the nut and as a slight angle. So I need to remove it, buy a bridge for lefties, drill 2 new holes in the guitar to fix it, and I would have the 2 holes open from the right-handed bridge. 😵‍💫

Reason I come to you:

1) Is the above correct? just changing the nut is not enough?
2) if yes, is there someone here who did that or knows someone and can tell me if that works well? (despite the 2 open holes in the guitar body..)
3) I live in London, if I have to do this to play it left-handed, do you have contact with a luthier, someone who does this type of work? That could be somehow affordable for a newbie?

Otherwise I am not doing anything and probably would have to sell the guitar again unfortunately. Why would it be that difficult for Yamaha to do the P90s version for lefties when they already sell them with humbuckers...

I thank you all in advance,
Regards
Joao

10 minutes ago, kanjinha said:

...I thank you all in advance,..