Neil Dare

Feeling a bit lost 😕

Question

Hi there. New to the forum,  but about a year and a half into playing, so not a complete newbie. Had lessons for a couple of months during lockdown but stopped due to family illness. And thanks to some serious belt-tightening can't really afford any atm.

I expect this is a bit of a perennial problem but I'm really struggling with WHAT to practice. My guitar time is very unstructured and I don't feel like I've improved much over the last 6 months or so. Was thinking of trying one of the online guitar lesson apps. Has anybody out there given any of them a go ?, and if so, we're they any good ?

Thanks in advance, Neil 

• Like 2

9 answers to this question

6 minutes ago, Neil Dare said:

...I expect this is a bit of a perennial problem...

Good evening, Neil...

Would you mind giving a bit more detail as to what you're wanting to achieve..? What style..? Any favourite influences you'd like to work towards..? Any songs or pieces that you are already either good at or struggling with..? There's a lot of general advice, suitable for any and all occasions, but a bit more info would help to put you on the rails.
Meanwhile, here's a few general tips that will always serve you in good stead...
A little-and-often approach is much better than irregular long sessions. Make a conscious decision to do, every day, at least 10-15 minutes, without fail. This is better than 2 hours at week-ends, for instance. It matters less what you do in that time as the regularity of doing stuff, every day. It's a simple discipline, but works wonders.