Defontaine

New Player hits Wall!

HI everyone,

So, i decided for once in my life i would actually stick something out for a change, I've been playing electric guitar for about 5 months now, and I'm really enjoying it, So far, I have however, hit a wall over something it don't really understand and I'm hoping to get the answer from some people with more experience that myself, i have a chordify subscription and play along with the rolling notes that appear, i play with a capo, the problem I'm having is understanding certain notes displayed, i don't have a problem with the normal notes and if the song isn't simple enough i simply move the capo until it's playable again, but in some songs a note appears that i don't understand, i will insert a picture of what i mean and hopefully someone with more experience can explain it. It's the one's with the bar that i don't understand.

capo.jpg

In the figure for F major, the index finger bars across all the strings whilst the other three fingers make a E shape chord. This is the same as putting your capo on the first fret and fingering an E. The barred F chord is probably the hardest to master when starting out, although the barred Bb isn’t much easier TBH (index bar at the first fret and the remaining fingers making an A shape. The Bb often omits the barre to make the things easier, with the 6th & 5th strings not being played).

Good morning, @Defontaine, and ...

Sq1J2dj.gif

Plenty to read and amuse you here, and lots to learn and share. rWNVV2D.gif